Sustainability and environmental stewardship

NEB – sustainable without styrofoam:
Eco-friendly & compostable shipping boxes!

We are gradually converting our shipping logistics for frozen and refrigerated goods for you: Instead of the usual polystyrene (“styrofoam”) insulation boxes, we now use sustainable and environmentally friendly shipping boxes with straw insulation, which require 50 times less energy in production.

This new, environmentally friendly insulated box meets the strictest criteria for reliable and sustainable shipping:

  • Functional: shock-absorbing, moisture-regulating and very good insulating properties
  • Ecological: climate-neutral production in Germany from straw remnants
  • Pure: From pure, thermally treated straw fibres in food quality
  • Tested: best insulation performance tested according to internal and external standards
  • Certified: tested and certified according to high hygienic standards
    (DIN EN15593, GMP-Verordnung (EG) Nr. 2023/2006, (EG) Nr. 1935/2004)

Please dispose of cardboard with your local recycling program. Straw ­insulation ­panels are compostable and can be disposed of with your ­organic waste. In ­Germany you can also return the complete box by using the ­„return to sender“ ­sticker that accompanies the shipment. Do you have any questions or remarks?
free call: 0800/246-5227 (in Germany)
free call: 00800/246-52277 (in Austria)

This is what NEB customers are saying:

Read more

Green PE-Foil
100% recyclable and CO2 climate neutral
At New England Biolabs we send our customer magazine “NEB-Aktuell”, our catalogues or other special prints and brochures in protective “Green PE” foil – if possible bundled with several printed materials in one delivery.

The Green PE foil used is 100% recyclable and CO2 climate neutral, as it is not generated from fossil resources, but exclusively from renewable raw materials such as sugar and starch. Green PE is an “eco-film” approved for shipping by Deutsche Post. If the Green PE foil is not recycled directly via the PE recycling stream, it is completely decomposed into water and CO2 when thermally re-used by waste incineration.

Because not all organic products are the same

What are the differences?

Bioplastics are a group of different plastics with very different properties. However, they must always meet at least one of two “bio” criteria.

Biobased
Biobased means that at least part of the plastic consists of renewable, i.e. vegetable raw materials, e.g. sugar, starch, oils, cellulose, etc.

Biodegradable
Biodegradable means that the plastic can be degraded by naturally occurring microorganisms. This produces water, CO2 and a small amount of biomass. Bio-based plastics can be biodegradable, but do not have to be.

Bioplastics in comparison

Bioplastics:
Green PE foils (used by NEB) are bio-based and 100% recyclable, but not biodegradable. The raw material used is chemically identical to standard PE quality and therefore provides identical mechanical properties. However, since the raw material used for the production of the raw material is non-fossil (no crude oil), but bio-based and renewable (sugar, starch, cellulose…), Green PE film is much more sustainable than conventionally produced PE films. When used thermally, Green PE breaks down into water and CO2 without further residues.

Biodegradable foils are bio-based and completely biodegradable under industrial composting conditions. The raw material used is PLA. The mechanical properties of biodegradable films are worse than those of PE or Green PE films. The modified raw material also gives the film an unmistakable optical and haptic “biofeeling”. For many applications, e.g. garbage bags, etc., the properties are absolutely sufficient, but not for use in postal dispatch.

Oxo-degradable is not “bio”.
Oxo-degradable or oxo-degradable plastics are often wrongly referred to as bioplastics. But they are anything but “bio”. Materials such as cobalt, manganese or iron are added to these plastics. Under the influence of UV light, heat and oxygen, the polymer chains are dissolved and the material decomposes into minute particles. In contrast to biodegradable plastics, however, there is no complete decomposition of the plastic by microorganisms. Although the plastic is no longer visible to the eye, it is still present and represents a major problem in our ecosystem in the form of microplastics. It is also foreseeable that oxo-degradable films will be banned in the EU due to their negative properties.

Summary

biodegradable Green PE
(as used by NEB)
Standard PE
biobased yes yes no
bio-degradbable yes no no
recyclable yes yes yes
mechanical properties + +++ +++
applicable as bag yes yes yes
shrink films no yes yes
foils for automation no yes yes
approved by logistics carrier no yes yes

CO2 climate-neutral Print Productions:
Safe habitat for chimpanzees
NEB supports conservation and reforestation initiatives.

For many years we at NEB have been focusing on CO2-neutral print production for all our catalogues, brochures, customer magazines, posters, cards etc.. With the help of our partner company “Climate Partner”, we have calculated all CO2 emissions that are unavoidable in the process chain and offset them through recognized and certified climate protection projects.

Example: Production NEB Catalog & Technical Reference 2019/20.

Project 1169: Kibale National Park is one of the last remaining tropical forest blocks in Uganda. It harbours the greatest variety of primates found anywhere in East Africa. It is home to almost 1,500 chimpanzees, Uganda´s largest population of this endangered species. The variety of further species, like forest elephants, wild cats, birds and plants represent the intact biodiversity.

Through reforestation and preservation activities, the project helps protect biodiversity and mitigate climate change on a total area of 10,000 hectares.

For more details, please click here: https://fpm.climatepartner.com/project/1169/en

Selection of Climate-neutral Certificates of NEB print productions:

NEB Catalog & Technical Reference 2020

NEB Calendar 2020

NEB Eco-Box (big)

Klimaurkunde Eco-Box Kartonage

NEB Eco-Box (small)

NEBNext Direct brochure

NEBNext Single Cell brochure

Monarch brochure

NEB Newsflash

Environmental Commitment

We do not only focus on minimal environmental impact when shipping our products or manufacturing and packaging our brochures.

Already during the development and production processes at New England Biolabs, Inc. in the US, special attention is paid to maximum energy efficiency and environmental protection. This includes an intelligent, sustainable building design, a waste management and recycling program, including a waste water treatment plant, and the use of solar energy. Find out more in our video.

With the Labconscious Blog we have created an information platform that can help you to make laboratory work more environmentally friendly. Here you will find a number of tips on how to avoid plastic waste, save energy in the laboratory and other aspects of environmental protection.

Labconscious Logo

Environmental stewardship is one of the founding principles of NEB. Learn more about our efforts at neb.com .

Further information can be found in our Technical Resources section or at neb.com. Information on trademarks can be found here.

Nachhaltigkeit und Umweltschutz bei NEB

Jetzt geht‘s bei NEB auch ohne Styropor:
Ökologische & kompostierbare Versandboxen!

Wir stellen für Sie sukzessive unsere Versandlogistik für Kühlwaren um: Statt üblicher Isolierboxen aus Styropor nutzen wir nun nachhaltige und umweltfreundliche Versandboxen mit Strohisolierung, die 50-mal weniger Energie in der Herstellung verbrauchen.

Diese neue, umweltfreundliche Isolierbox erfüllt strengste Kriterien für einen zuverlässigen und nachhaltigen Versand:

  • Funktional: stoßdämpfend, feuchtigkeitsregulierend und sehr gut isolierend
  • Ökologisch: klimaneutrale Herstellung in Deutschland aus Strohresten
  • Rein: Aus reinen, thermisch behandelten Strohfasern in Lebensmittelqualität
  • Geprüft: beste Isolierleistung geprüft nach internen und externen Standards
  • Zertifiziert: mikrobiell geprüft und zertifiziert nach hohen hygienischen Ansprüchen
    (DIN EN15593, GMP-Verordnung (EG) Nr. 2023/2006, (EG) Nr. 1935/2004)

Bitte entsorgen Sie die Kartonage als Altpapier. Die Stroh-Pads können Sie kompostieren oder über Ihren Biomüll oder Restmüll entsorgen. In Deutschland nehmen wir die komplette Box auch unentgeltlich zurück. Nutzen Sie dazu bitte einfach den mitgelieferten Rücksende-Aufkleber.

Haben Sie noch Fragen oder Anregungen?
Tel.: 0800/246-5227 (für Kunden aus Deutschland)
Tel.: 00800/246-52277 (für Kunden aus Österreich)

Und das sagen unsere Kunden zu den Strohboxen

Mehr Lesen

Green PE-Folie
100% recycling-fähig und CO2-klimaneutral

Bei New England Biolabs versenden wir unsere Kundenzeitschrift NEB-Aktuell, Kataloge oder andere  Sonderdrucke in schützender „Green PE“-Folie – nach Möglichkeit gebündelt mit mehreren Drucksachen in einer Lieferung.

Die dabei verwendete Green PE-Folie ist 100% recycling-fähig und CO2-klimaneutral, da sie nicht aus fossilen Ressourcen, sondern ausschließlich aus nachwachsenden Rohstoffen wie Zucker und Stärke generiert wird. Green PE ist von der Deutschen Post für den Versand zugelassen. Wird die Green PE-Folie nicht recycelt, zerfällt sie bei thermischer Verwertung rückstandslos zu Wasser und CO2.

Weil Bio nicht gleich Bio ist

Wo liegen die Unterschiede?

Biokunststoffe sind eine Gruppe von verschiedenen Kunststoffen mit sehr unterschiedlichen Eigenschaften. Sie müssen aber immer mindestens eines von zwei ,,Bio“-Kriterien erfüllen.

Biobasiert
Biobasiert bedeutet, dass der Kunststoff mindestens zu einem Anteil aus nachwachsenden, also pflanzlichen Rohstoffen besteht, z.B. Zucker, Stärke, Öle, Cellulose etc.

Biologisch abbaubar
Biologisch abbaubar bedeutet, dass der Kunststoff durch natürlich vorkommende Mikroorganismen abgebaut werden kann. Dabei entstehen Wasser, CO2 sowie ein kleiner Anteil an Biomasse. Biobasierte Kunststoffe können biologisch abbaubar sein, müssen es aber nicht.

Biofolienarten im Vergleich

Biofolien

Green PE-Folien (von NEB verwendet ) sind biobasiert und 100% recycling-fähig, aber nicht biologisch abbaubar. Der eingesetzte Rohstoff ist chemisch identisch mit Standard PE-Qualität und liefert deshalb identische mechanische Eigenschaften. Da das Ausgangsmaterial zur Rohstoffherstellung aber nicht-fossil (kein Erdöl), sondern biobasiert und nachwachsend (Zucker, Stärke, Cellulose…) ist, ist Green PE-Folie deutlich nachhaltiger als herkömmlich hergestellte PE-Folien. Bei einer thermischen Verwertung zerfällt Green PE in Wasser, und CO2 ohne weitere Rückstände.

Biodegradable Folien sind biobasiert und unter industriellen Kompostierbedingungen vollständig biologisch abbaubar. Der eingesetzte Rohstoff ist PLA. Die mechanischen Eigenschaften von biologisch abbaubaren Folien sind schlechter als die einer PE- oder Green PE-Folie. Der geänderte Rohstoff verleiht der Folie außerdem optisch und haptisch ein unverwechselbares ,,Biogefühl“. Für viele Anwendungen, z.B. für Müllbeutel o.ä., sind die Eigenschaften absolut ausreichend, nicht aber für den Einsatz im Postversand.

Oxo-degradable ist nicht ,,bio“
Oxo-degradable oder oxo-abbaubare Kunststoffe werden oft fälschlicherweise ebenfalls als Biokunststoffe bezeichnet. Dabei sind sie alles andere als ,,bio“. Diesen Kunststoffen werden Stoffe wie Kobalt, Mangan oder Eisen beigefügt. Unter dem Einfluss von UV-Licht, Wärme und Sauerstoff werden die Polymerketten aufgelöst, und das Material zerfällt in kleinste Partikel. lm Gegensatz zu biologisch abbaubaren Kunststoffen findet aber keine vollständige Zersetzung des Kunststoffs durch Mikroorganismen statt. Der Kunststoff ist zwar für das Auge nicht mehr sichtbar, ist aber immer noch vorhanden und stellt in unserem Ökosystem ein großes Problem als Mikroplastik dar. Es ist zudem absehbar, dass oxo-abbaubare Folien in der EU aufgrund ihrer negativen Eigenschaften verboten werden.

Tabellarische Übersicht

biodegradable Green PE
(von NEB verwendet)
Standard PE
Biobasiert Ja Ja Nein
Biologisch abbaubar Ja Nein Nein
Recycling-fähig Ja Ja Ja
Mechanische Eigenschaften Gut Sehr gut Sehr gut
Beutelanwendungen Ja Ja Ja
Schrumpffolien Nein Ja Ja
Automatenfolien Nein Ja Ja
Für Postsendungen versendbar Nein Ja Ja

CO2 klimaneutrale Druckproduktionen:
Sichere Lebensräume für Schimpansen
NEB unterstützt Maßnahmen zur Erhaltung und Wiederaufforstung

Seit vielen Jahren bereits setzen wir bei NEB auf CO2-klimaneutrale Druckproduktionen für all unsere Kataloge, Broschüren, Kundenzeitschriften, Poster, Karten etc.. Denn wir haben mit Hilfe unserer Partnerfirma „Climate Partner“ alle CO2-Emissionen, die in der Prozesskette unvermeidlich entstanden sind, berechnet und über anerkannte Klimaschutzprojekte ausgeglichen.

Beispiel: Produktion NEB Catalog & Technical Reference 2019/20:

Klimaprojekt 1169: Der Kibale Nationalpark ist einer der letzten tropischen Waldgebiete in Uganda und Heimat der größten Vielfalt an Primaten in Ostafrika. Mit fast 1500 Schimpansen ist hier die größte Population Ugandas dieser gefährdeten Spezies zu finden. Die hier zu findende intakte Artenvielfalt beinhaltet nicht nur Schimpansen sondern unter anderem auch Waldelefanten, wilde Katzen, Vögel und verschiedene Pflanzenarten.

Das Projekt unterstütz durch die Maßnahmen zur Erhaltung und Wiederaufforstung die Artenvielfalt und schwächt die Klimaveränderung auf einem Gebiet von 10000 Hektar ab.

Mehr erfahren Sie hier: https://fpm.climatepartner.com/project/1169/en

Klimaneutral-Urkunden einiger unserer Printprodukte:

NEB Catalog & Technical Reference 2020

NEB Kalender 2020

NEB Eco-Box (gross)

Klimaurkunde Eco-Box Kartonage

NEB Eco-Box (klein)

NEBNext Direct Broschüre

NEBNext Single Cell Broschüre

Monarch Broschüre

NEB Newsflash

Umweltschutz ist Teil unserer Unternehmenskultur

Nicht nur beim Versand unserer Produkte und bei der Herstellung und Verpackung unserer Broschüren legen wir Wert auf minimalen Umwelteinfluss.

Schon während der Entwicklung und Produktion bei New England Biolabs, Inc. in den USA wird besonders auf maximale Energieeffizienz und Umweltschutz geachtet. Dies schließt ein intelligentes, nachhaltiges Gebäudedesign, ein umfangreiches Abfall-Management und Recycling Programm inkl. eigener Abwasseraufbereitungsanlage und die Nutzung von Solarenergie mit ein. Mehr dazu erfahren Sie in unserem Video.

Mit dem Labconscious Blog haben wir eine Informationsplattform geschaffen, die Ihnen helfen kann, die Laborarbeit umweltfreundlicher zu gestalten. Hier finden Sie eine Reihe von Tipps wie sich z.B. Plastikmüll vermeiden lässt oder Energie im Labor eingespart werden kann.

Labconscious Logo

Besuchen Sie neb.com um mehr über unsere Umweltschutzprogramme zu erfahren.

Weiterführende Informationen finden Sie unter Technische Ressourcen oder auf neb.com. Informationen zu Namensrechten finden Sie hier.